14 January 2020





The World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest

The 2020 Digital Storytelling Contest marks the 10th edition of the contest, first introduced in 2011 by the World Press Photo Foundation as the ‘Multimedia Contest’. The 10th edition intends to draw even more attention to the diversity of formats made possible by digital platforms and the constant developments in documentary film and interactive storytelling. The contest is open to digital storytellers, visual journalists, producers, and entry coordinators, with submissions that include the work of a professional visual journalist.

More Details

Categories :

An interactive visual story or project in a form other than video, which through its design creates an immersive and/or innovative experience for the user. It must include photography and/or film in combination with (but not limited to) animation, graphics, illustrations, sound or text.

A single linear narrative, or series of linear narratives, on a single topic, produced as a video for the web, and lasting no longer than 30 minutes in total. The production(s) must include photography and/or film in combination with (but not limited to) animation, graphics, illustrations, sound or text.

A single linear narrative, produced as a video for the web, lasting no longer than 10 minutes. The production must include photography and/or film in combination with (but not limited to) animation, graphics, illustrations, sound or text.

Opportunity Focus Areas:

  • Visual Journalism
  • Photography
  • Film Making

For more information about Categories here

Required Languages


Eligible Countries


Program Period

Winners will be announced 16 April 2020

 A representative from the nominated productions are invited to attend the 2020 Awards Show

16-18 April 2020: The World Press Photo Festival in Amsterdam.

Eligibility Requirements (Criteria)

  • The Digital Storytelling Contest is only open to entries that include the work of a professional visual journalist. Every visual journalist must provide valid proof of current professional status.
  • The visual journalist(s) must be the author(s) of the material submitted in his/her/their name.
  • The visual journalist(s), or the agent or representative entering on their behalf, must be the copyright holder(s) or have been authorized by the copyright holder(s) to submit the material.
  • Agents or representatives entering on behalf of a production team confirm, by entering, that each member of the production team accepts all the entry rules.
  • For entries that progress from the screening panel to the judging stage, producers must provide high-resolution production files and promotional materials (including a minimum of ten screenshots or stills and a trailer of one minute).
  •  Nominated productions must be available online to the public, by the nominee announcement on 25 February 2020.
  • Entries must be submitted via the official contest platform. Entries sent in other ways will not be accepted.
  • All productions must either have English-language audio and/or text or must be subtitled in English.
  • All entries must include a title, synopsis and complete list of the production team.
  • Entries in all categories must have been produced or first published in 2019.
  • All entries must include the contact details of the visual journalist(s) and of the production’s contact person.
  •  The conditions set out in the Entry Rules are binding, and the World Press Photo Foundation reserves the right to refuse or exclude any entry at its own discretion.

         For more information about Entry Rules here

Opportunity Cost


  • The World Press Photo Foundation will award a ‘World Press Photo Interactive of the Year’ and a ‘World Press Photo Online Video of the Year’. Both awards carry a cash prize of 10,000 euros.
  • A representative will receive return airfare and hotel accommodation for travel to Amsterdam for the World Press Photo Festival.
  • The winners also receive a World Press Photo of the Year Award/World Press Photo Story of the Year Award, created by Gijs Bakker, a selection of camera equipment provided by Canon, a Golden Eye Award and a diploma.
  • 3 nominees in each category will receive inclusion in the World Press Photo exhibition and the annual collectible yearbook, a diploma and Golden Eye Award and they are often featured in major publications and invited to speak at public events, exhibition openings, and lectures throughout the year.

For more information about Prizes here

How to Apply

First Step: make an account then Submit your entry here.

Apply Now

More Details

Know more about this opportunity:

Official Website

Marj3 recommended links

To learn how to write CV, Essays, Personal statement,  and know about recommendation letters click here:

Marj3 recommended links

This Scholarship Published by:
 Gehad Elazab / Egypt

Reviewed by” basmala Tarek/ Egypt
MARJ3 Intern
MARJ3 Scholarships team