January 31, 2019.


Washington, USA.



Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award

The Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award honors an individual or group of individuals who stand up to oppression at grave personal risk in the nonviolent pursuit of human rights.

More Details

The Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award forges strategic partnerships with laureates whose work advances human rights causes all over the world. In combining resources and collaborating on strategy, our laureates amplify their transformative work to a worldwide audience.

Opportunity Focus Areas:

  • Human Rights
  • Journalism

Required Languages


Eligible Countries


Program Period

Online Application

  • All submissions must be received by January 31, 2019.
  • The ceremony is held in Washington, D.C. in November. The recipients are expected to travel to the U.S. to receive the Award at the ceremony in their honor.

Eligibility Requirements (Criteria)

  • Persons and organizations working non-violently to promote and protect human rights of any race, creed, religion, nationality, gender, or sexual orientation are eligible.
  • Nominees must not be part of a government institution or have an official role within a political party, although the nominee can be affiliated with a political party.
  • Additionally, nominees must not be self-nominated and nominees must not be nominated for the purposes of a lifetime achievement award or a posthumous award.

Opportunity Cost


  • A one-time total cash prize of U.S. $30,000 will be given to the nominee selected to receive the Award. While it is preferable that one nominee is given the Award, if more than one recipient is selected in a year, the cash prize will be divided equally among the recipients.

How to Apply

First Step: Anyone can nominate for the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award, Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights seeks nominations from a wide spectrum of individuals likely to know of appropriate candidates.

Second Step: You can fill Nominee Information  Here.

Note: While the Human Rights Award Judges may not nominate candidates for the Award, they may re-nominate candidates who were nominated but not selected in the previous year.

Apply Now

More Details

Know more about this opportunity:

Official Website

Marj3 recommended links

To learn how to write CV, Essays, Personal statement,  and know about recommendation letters click here:

Marj3 recommended links

This Scholarship Published by:
Lubna Albadawi/ Syria 

Reviewed by” Lamis Moawad/ Egypt 
MARJ3 Intern
MARJ3 Scholarships team