25 February 2020.





LafargeHolcim Awards competition for Sustainable Construction

The LafargeHolcim Awards seek leading projects of professionals as well as bold ideas from the Next Generation that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence. The 6th cycle of the international competition is open for entries.

More Details

The LafargeHolcim Awards competition has two categories: LafargeHolcim Awards main category and Next Generation young professionals and students category. In both categories, the project must not have commenced execution prior to January 1, 2019.

Opportunity Focus Areas:

  • Architecture.
  • Engineering.
  • Urban planning.
  • Materials science.
  • Construction technology.

Required Languages


Eligible Countries


Program Period

  • Submissions Evaluation in June/July 2020.
  • Awards, Acknowledgements and Next Generation prizes will be presented at LafargeHolcim Awards ceremonies in each region between September and November 2020.

Eligibility Requirements (Criteria)

  • The Main Awards category is open to architects, engineers, planners, project owners, builders and construction firms for projects at an advanced stage of design with high probability of execution.
  • The Next Generation category for young professionals and students up to 30 years of age seeks visions and bold ideas.
  • In both categories, execution of the project may not have started before January 1, 2019.
  • Submissions must be in English.
  • No limit to number of projects an individual/team may enter.
  • The same project may not be entered in both categories of the competition
  • There are 2 categories for the Award:

Evaluation Criteria:

  • Innovation and transferability – PROGRESS
  • Ethical standards and social inclusion – PEOPLE
  • Resource and environmental performance – PLANET
  • Economic viability and compatibility – PROSPERITY
  • Contextual and aesthetic impact – PLACE

Opportunity Cost


LafargeHolcim Awards main category

  • LafargeHolcim Awards Gold USD 100,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Silver USD 50,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Bronze USD 30,000
  • 4 x LafargeHolcim Awards Acknowledgement prizes of USD 20,000 each

LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation category

  • LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation 1st prize USD 25,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation 2nd prize USD 20,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation 3rd prize USD 15,000
  • LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation 4th prize USD 10,000

Global LafargeHolcim Awards

  • The 15 recipients of regional LafargeHolcim Awards Gold, Silver and Bronze are automatically nominated for the Global LafargeHolcim Awards in 2020. The prize money of the Global LafargeHolcim Awards competition is USD 350,000:
  • Global LafargeHolcim Awards Gold USD 150,000
  • Global LafargeHolcim Awards Silver USD 100,000
  • Global LafargeHolcim Awards Bronze USD 50,000
  • Global LafargeHolcim Awards Wild Card from a budget of USD 50,000

How to Apply

First Step: You will be able to make a new entry through this link.

Second Step: You will get your Id and open your application.

Third Step: Your Entry content includes author details, project summary, statements on sustainability, CO2 lifecycle assessment (for maincategory), 5–10 project images. 

Apply Now

More Details

Know more about this opportunity:

Official Website

Marj3 recommended links

To learn how to write CV, Essays, Personal statement,  and know about recommendation letters click here:

Marj3 recommended links

This Scholarship Published by:
Salma Abd El-Aziz /Egypt

Reviewed by” Mohamed Magdi Eweda / Egypt
MARJ3 Intern
MARJ3 Scholarships team